SiC market size for automobiles, doubling in 2 years

时间:2022-07-27浏览次数:517
Reprinted from Semiconductor Industry Observation

The global sales of new energy vehicles have surged, and countries and factories have focused on the development of silicon carbide power components in order to differentiate, actively improving the power performance of electric vehicles; TrendForce stated that as more and more car manufacturers begin to introduce SiC technology into electric drive systems, the market size will show a rapid growth trend of doubling every two years.

TrendForce stated that the current automotive SiC power component market is mainly controlled by IDM manufacturers in Europe and America. Key suppliers STM, ON Semi, Wolfspeed (formerly Cree), Infineon, and ROHM have been deeply involved in this field for a long time, and have closely interacted with major car companies and Tier1 manufacturers; The prosperity of the automotive market has also made major manufacturers realize the importance of stable supply capacity, so they have gradually entered the upstream substrate material sector, attempting to fully grasp the supply chain. For example, ON Semi acquired GT Advanced Technologies last year.

In addition, the cost issue of using SiC power components has always been a market concern, with the key focus on upstream substrate materials. The industry is attempting to further reduce costs through various means, including new crystal growth methods (UJ-Crystal, lattice field), high-efficiency wafer processing techniques (Soitec, Disco, Infineon, Xi'an Shengguang Silicon Research), and following Wolfspeed towards 8 inches.

TrendForce emphasizes that with the continuous breakthroughs in silicon carbide material technology and the maturity of chip structure and module packaging processes, the penetration rate of SiC power components in the automotive market continues to rise, and gradually extends from the current high-end vehicle applications to mid to low-end vehicle models, thereby accelerating the process of automotive electrification.

TrendForce stated that from the perspective of China, which is currently the world's largest electric vehicle market, automotive companies such as SAIC and GAC have begun to layout the entire SiC industry chain, creating great development opportunities for local suppliers. At the same time, car companies such as BYD and Hyundai have launched their own chip research plans, injecting new vitality into the market.

picture

Estimated market size of silicon carbide surpasses the $1 billion level in 2022

New Trends in SiC Industry: Vertical Integration is One of them

In yesterday's report on semiconductor industry observation, titled "The Birth of South Korea's First Manufacturer with a Full SiC Industry Chain", we talked about SK Group's acquisition as another company that controls the entire SiC industry chain. According to Yole, a consulting and analysis company, this has become an important trend in the SiC industry.

Yole's compound semiconductor team announced that the SiC device market will reach 6.3 billion US dollars by 2027. With the development trend of electric vehicles in the past few years, longer range is one of the main needs of customers. However, this in turn creates a demand for fast DC charging to reduce waiting time at charging stations. 800V EV is a solution that meets demand and began to penetrate the market in 2021.

Yole Compound Semiconductor and Emerging Materials Technology and Market Analyst Poshun Chiu commented. SiC is considered a driving factor in providing good efficiency, and supplying 1200V devices is feasible. With the emergence of more 800V electric vehicles, SiC is expected to grow rapidly. At the same time, charging infrastructure and photovoltaic are two markets that support the trend of electric vehicles. More chargers are needed to support the growing number of electric vehicles, and renewable energy and electric vehicles have the same zero carbon dioxide emission goals. These are SiC A market that gains more momentum

SiC market participants are striving to generate more revenue in this multi-billion dollar business.

For example, companies including STMicroelectronics, Wolfspeed, onsemi, and Infineon Technologies have announced their "billion dollar revenue" targets. Although each participant chose a different path, the similarities in their business models can be clearly identified.

In terms of IDM, their business model is that leading manufacturers choose to supply equipment, especially power modules. This business model represents a higher dollar value to increase revenue.

STMicroelectronics is a leading SiC company as their modules have been in use in Tesla Model 3 for many years. Their activities are not only at the device level; In fact, Alpha Semiconductor demonstrated their internal 8-inch SiC wafers in 2021.

Another leading SiC company, Onsemi, took an important step in 2021 by acquiring SiC wafer supplier GT Advanced Technologies. Today, Onsemi is committed to expanding its SiC wafer production capacity. Its goal is to support its rapidly growing SiC business.

Speaking of leading companies in the global power electronics industry, Infineon Technology achieved an impressive 126% growth in its SiC device business in 2021, exceeding the average growth rate of 57%. The 800V modern Ioniq5 developed by Infineon Technology has pushed it onto the fast lane with its solid industrial application foundation.

Dr. Peter Friedrich, Vice President of Silicon Carbide at Infineon Technologies, stated: The efficiency advantages brought by silicon carbide are perfectly matched with global efforts to save electricity. Not only in emerging and new applications such as solar energy conversion or electric vehicle charging, but also in traditional power semiconductor applications, the adoption rate will increase. We no longer need to promote the benefits of technology; these are well-known issues in the industry - now turning to intelligent implementation, which brings long-term cost-effectiveness advantages.

As for Wolfspeed, it is also determined to focus its activities on the SiC business. A few years ago, the company decided to undergo a major restructuring, selling its LED business and expanding its power device business. With its leading position in SiC wafers, Wolfspeed has now certified its 8-inch wafer factory. The company is moving forward and increasing its growth rate.

At the same time, ROHM is expanding its device and wafer production capacity for vertical integration after acquiring SiCrystal ten years ago. II-VI shared their long-term perspectives by showcasing 1200V equipment that meets automotive standards and expanding partnerships with General Electric.

In the past few years, these major participants have reshaped the SiC ecosystem. According to Yole, there are two main trends affecting its supply chain: vertical integration of wafer manufacturing and module packaging to generate more revenue in the coming years. In this context, terminal system companies, such as automotive OEMs, are adopting SiC faster and more flexibly to manage their supply with multiple wafer suppliers in the market

SiC World Driven by Innovation

From the perspective of technological development, innovative methods for SiC wafers have been proposed. As of 2022, SiC wafers still account for the main portion of SiC device costs.

Amine Allouche, a technology and cost analyst at System Plus Consulting, stated in the 2021 SiC transistor comparison report that "SiC raw wafer costs account for over 60% of the cost of 1200V SiC MOSFET epitaxial wafers. Although SiC wafer production capacity has been expanding, there is still strong innovation momentum in terms of quality, production, and cost.

The 8-inch SiC wafer is considered a key step in expanding production scale. The goal is obviously to increase production and gain an advantage in the next round of competition. The main IDM is developing its own 8-inch SiC wafer manufacturing capabilities; As of 2022, some wafer suppliers have started shipping samples.

In Yole's power SiC prediction, 6-inch will still be the leading platform for the next five years. However, starting from 2022, an initial volume of 8 inches will be launched and will be seen as a strategic resource by market participants.

Another method is to optimize the wafer processing process to produce more wafers from a single SiC ingot. Solution suppliers such as DISCO have developed laser cutting systems to increase production. Infineon Technology has certified their cold diversion technology.

Some companies have proposed the idea of "out of the box" and proposed very different methods for manufacturing SiC wafers. Soitec applies their SmartCut technology to produce thin layer SiC wafers with lower defect rates and processed wafers with lower resistivity. Sumitomo Metal Mining, a Japanese company, plans to increase its engineered SiC wafers in the coming years. Swedish startup KISAB provides wafer based methods to provide high-quality SiC wafers. These innovations may accelerate the global development of SiC in the coming years

In the strong market dominated by EV applications, SiC has a prospect of billions of dollars in the next five years, and is expected to enter more and more application fields. To achieve this goal, the evolution and innovation of ecosystems are the most noteworthy factors. IDM is the main business model of SiC. In addition, major SiC manufacturers are moving towards the module level along the supply chain. Strategy is to create value. At the same time, innovation never stops. Therefore, new entrants are bringing new methods to improve scale, throughput, quality, or cost.

Yole's analysts firmly believe that SiC is a rapidly growing market.


Tel:0512-62888567
ADD:Building 1, Third Generation Semiconductor Industrial Park, Zone III, Suzhou Nanocity, No. 1 Shuangdeng Road, Suzhou Industrial Park
Support:HUIXIN

车用SiC市场规模,2年翻1倍

时间:2022-07-27浏览次数:790
转载自《半导体行业观察》

全球新能源汽车销售数冲高,各国、各厂为做出差异化,已经目光锁定碳化硅(SiC,silicon carbide)功率元件发展上,积极提升电动汽车动力性能;TrendForce表示,随着越来越多车厂开始在电驱系统中导入SiC技术,市场规模将呈现每2年翻1倍的急速成长态势。


TrendForce表示,目前车用SiC功率元件市场,主要由欧美IDM大厂掌控,关键供应商STM、ON Semi、Wolfspeed(原Cree)、Infineon及ROHM在此领域深耕已久,与各大车企及Tier1厂商互动密切;车用市场繁荣同样令各大厂商体会稳定供货能力重要性,因此陆续切入上游基板材料环节,试图完全掌握供应链,如ON Semi于去年收购GT Advanced Technologies。


此外,采用SiC功率元件的成本问题一直受到市场关注,其关键点落于上游基板材料,业界正尝试从诸多途径来进一步降低成本,包括新型晶体生长法(UJ-Crystal、晶格领域)、高效率晶圆加工技术(Soitec、Disco、Infineon、西安晟光矽研),以及追随Wolfspeed迈向8英吋。


TrendForce强调,随着碳化硅材料技术不断取得突破,以及晶片结构及模组封装工艺趋于成熟,SiC功率元件于车用市场渗透率持续攀升,并由目前的高阶车型应用逐步延伸至中、低阶车型中,从而加速汽车电动化进程。


TrendForce表示,从目前全球最大电动车市场的中国来看,上汽、广汽等车企已着手布局SiC全产业链,这给本土供应商创造了极大的发展机会。与此同时,诸如比亚迪、Hyundai等车企已纷纷启动芯片自研计划,亦给市场注入了新的活力。


图片

碳化硅市场规模预估2022年突破10亿美元关卡


SiC产业的新趋势:垂直整合是其中之一


在昨天半导体行业观察的报道《韩国首家拥有SiC全产业链的厂商诞生》的文章中,我们谈到了韩国SK集团通过收购,正是成为又一个控制了SiC全链条的公司。而根据咨询分析公司Yole的报道,这已经成为了SiC产业的一个重要趋势。

Yole 的化合物半导体团队宣布,到 2027 年,SiC 器件市场将达到 63 亿美元。随着过去几年电动汽车的发展趋势,更长的续航里程是客户的主要需求之一。然而,这反过来又产生了对快速直流充电的需求,以减少充电站的等待时间。800V EV 是满足需求的解决方案,并于 2021 年开始渗透市场。

Yole 化合物半导体和新兴材料技术和市场分析师 Poshun Chiu评论道。“SiC 被认为是提供良好效率的推动因素,供应 1200V 器件是可行的。随着更多 800V 电动汽车的问世,预计 SiC 将快速增长。同时,充电基础设施和光伏是支持电动汽车趋势的两个市场。需要更多的充电器来支持不断增长的电动汽车数量,可再生能源与电动汽车有着相同的二氧化碳零排放目标。这些是 SiC 获得更多动力的市场。”

SiC 市场参与者正在努力在这项价值数十亿美元的业务中创造更多收入。

例如,包括 STMicroelectronics、Wolfspeed、onsemi 和 Infineon Technologies 在内的公司宣布了他们的“十亿美元收入”目标。尽管每个参与者选择了不同的路径,但可以清楚地识别出它们之间商业模式的相似性。

在IDM方面,他们的商业模式是领先厂商选择供应设备,尤其是电源模块的模式。这种商业模式代表了更高的美元价值来增加收入。

STMicroelectronics 是领先的 SiC 公司,因为他们的模块已在特斯拉 Model 3 中使用多年。他们的活动不仅在设备级别;事实上,意法半导体在 2021 年展示了他们的内部 8 英寸 SiC 晶圆。

另一家领先的 SiC 公司 Onsemi 在 2021 年迈出了重要的一步,收购了 SiC晶圆供应商 GT Advanced Technologies。如今,Onsemi 正致力于扩大其 SiC 晶圆产能。其目标是支持其快速增长的 SiC 业务。

谈到全球电力电子领域的领先公司,英飞凌科技在 2021 年的 SiC 器件业务实现了令人印象深刻的 126% 的增长,超过了 57% 的平均增长率。英飞凌科技开发的 800V 现代 Ioniq5 凭借其坚实的工业应用基础,将其推向了快车道。

英飞凌科技股份公司碳化硅副总裁 Peter Friedrichs 博士表示:“碳化硅带来的效率优势与全球节约电能的努力完美匹配。不仅在太阳能转换或电动汽车充电等新兴和新应用中,而且在传统功率半导体应用中,采用率都会提高。我们不再需要宣传技术的好处;这些在业界非常有名——现在正转向智能实施的问题,从而带来长期的性价比优势。

至于Wolfspeed,也将其活动重点放在 SiC 业务上的决心。几年前,该公司决定进行重大重组,出售其 LED 业务并扩大其功率器件业务。凭借其在 SiC 晶圆上的领先地位,Wolfspeed 现已对其 8 英寸晶圆厂进行了认证。该公司正在向前发展,并提高了增长速度。

与此同时,ROHM 在十年前收购 SiCrystal 后正在扩大器件和晶圆的产能,以进行垂直整合。II-VI 通过展示符合汽车标准的 1200V 设备以及与通用电气的扩展合作伙伴关系,分享了他们的长期观点。

过去几年,这些主要参与者重塑了 SiC 生态系统。据 Yole 称,有两个主要趋势影响其供应链:晶圆制造和模块封装的垂直整合,以在未来几年获得更多收入。在此背景下,终端系统公司,例如汽车 OEM,正在更快、更灵活地采用 SiC,以管理与市场上多个晶圆供应商的供应……


由创新推动的SiC世界


从技术发展的角度,提出了 SiC 晶圆的创新方法。截至 2022 年,SiC 晶圆仍占 SiC 器件成本的主要部分。

System Plus Consulting的技术和成本分析师 Amine Allouche在2021 年 SiC 晶体管比较报告中表示:“SiC 原始晶圆成本占 1200V SiC MOSFET 外延晶圆成本的 60% 以上。尽管 SiC 晶圆产能一直在扩大,但在质量、产量和成本方面仍有很强的创新动力”。

8 英寸 SiC 晶圆被认为是扩大生产规模的关键步骤。目标显然是提高产量并在下一轮竞争中获得优势。主要 IDM 正在开发自己的 8 英寸 SiC 晶圆制造能力;截至 2022 年,一些晶圆供应商已经开始出货样品。

在 Yole 的功率 SiC 预测中,6 英寸仍将是未来五年的领先平台。然而,2022 年开始推出 8 英寸的初始量,并将被市场参与者视为战略资源。

另一种方法是优化晶圆加工工艺,从而从单个 SiC 晶锭生产更多晶圆。DISCO 等解决方案供应商已开发出激光切割系统以提高产量。英飞凌科技已经对他们的冷分流技术进行了认证。

一些公司提出了“开箱即用”的想法,提出了非常不同的 SiC 晶圆制造方法。Soitec 应用他们的 SmartCut 技术生产具有较低缺陷率的薄层的 SiC 晶圆和具有较低电阻率的处理晶圆。一家日本公司 Sumitomo Metal Mining 计划在未来几年增加其工程化 SiC 晶圆。瑞典初创公司 KISAB 提供基于晶圆的方法来提供高质量的 SiC 晶圆。这些创新可能会在未来几年加速 SiC 的全球发展…

在以 EV 应用为主的强劲市场中,未来 5 年具有数十亿美元的前景,预计 SiC 将进入越来越多的应用领域。为了实现这一目标,生态系统的演变和创新是最值得关注的因素。IDM是SiC的主要商业模式。此外,主要的 SiC 厂商正沿着供应链向模块级移动。战略是创造价值。与此同时,创新从未停止。因此,新进入者正在带来新的方法来提高规模、吞吐量、质量或成本。

Yole 的分析师坚信,SiC 是一个快速增长的市场。



电话:0512-62888567
联系地址:苏州工业园区双灯路1号苏州纳米城III区第三代半导体产业园1号楼
技术支持:会心科技